answersLogoWhite

0


Best Answer

No, but they can be cited for contempt of court if a replevin or other court order is issued for the recovery of the vehicle.

User Avatar

Wiki User

โˆ™ 2007-08-02 20:11:41
This answer is:
User Avatar
Study guides

Loans

26 cards

What is forfeiture

Which of these is the best description of delinquency

Which term is defined as property that is pledged as security on a loan

This is Paula's monthly budget What percent of her expenses is spent on insurance

โžก๏ธ
See all cards
2.33
โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…โ˜†โ˜…
3 Reviews

Add your answer:

Earn +20 pts
Q: Can a person be charged with grand theft auto under repossession if the vehicle can not be repossessed?
Write your answer...
Submit
Still have questions?
magnify glass
imp
Continue Learning about Movies & Television

What is the legal age a child can be left home alone in Maryland?

Q: "At what age can a child be left home alone in Maryland?" A: Family Law Article, § 5-801, provides: (a) A person who is charged with the care of a child under the age of 8 years may not allow the child to be locked or confined in a dwelling, building, enclosure, or motor vehicle while the person charged is absent and the dwelling, building, enclosure, or motor vehicle is out of the sight of the person charged unless the person charged provides a reliable person at least 13 years old to remain with the child to protect the child. (b) A person who violates this section is guilty of a misdemeanor and on conviction is subject to a fine not exceeding $500 or imprisonment not exceeding 30 days, or both. This information is available on the Web at http://www.djs.state.md.us/faq.html. For additional information, contact the DJS at 410-230-3333.


Can a 20 year old be charged with minor in possion of alcohol in Massachusetts?

yes any person underthe age of 21 anywhere canbe charged with underage drinking


Indiana Dunes state park fees per person?

Indiana Residents- $5/ per vehicle Out of State Residents- $10 per vehicle Walk in/bicycle- $2 per person


Can you be charged with trespassing if someone lives there asked you to come over?

If the person who lives there has legal right to be there i.e: owns the house/business, member of the family that lives there, etc . . . then you cannot be charged or prosecuted


Who is the youngest person ever arrested and charged with a criminal offense?

Jordan brown is the youngest person to be sentenced to life without parole for killing his father's fiancee

Related questions

Who is responsible for damage to a vehicle during a repossession?

the person the vehicle was leased to is responsible as they are the ones that have caused the vehicle to need to be repossessed.


Is it legal for the buyer to be charged the full price of their repossessed vehicle?

When a vehicle is repossessed it is sold at a public auction for the fair market value (or as close to such as is possible). The borrower/debtor is responsible for any deficit in the amount between what the vehicle is sold for and the remaining balance of the loan contract plus additional fees such as cost of the repossession action. So, in that context, the person is responsible for the "full price" of the vehicle.


Can a car be repossessed when another car is parked behind it?

Yes, a car can be repossessed even if another car is in front of it. The person in charge of repossession the vehicle can call the police to help them get the car.


Can a disabled person's vehicle be repossessed in Florida?

A disabled person's vehicle can be repossessed just as any other person's vehicle can be repossessed. You must make all payments on your vehicle if you want to keep it.


Can you register a car that is repossessed?

In some states, most that is at this point. However, most states are also passing or reviewing legislation that would prevent the registration of a vehicle up for repossession, and in some states such as Florida, the registration of any vehicle to a person who has a vehicle up for repossession.


Do you still have to pay for a car if you do a voluntary repossession in the state of Virginia?

Yes.. anywhere. When a vehicle gets repossessed (voluntarily or involuntarily) and it isn't reclaimed, the vehicle gets auctioned... the person who took the loan on the vehicle is still responsible for the difference between what was received for the vehicle at auction and what is owed on the balance of the vehicle (plus repossession, storage, and auction fees).


Can an automobile be repossessed in Illinois if the owner is present?

Sure. The owner can't stop the repossession and is aware of the incident, which makes it easier for everyone. * Not if the person is in the vehicle or the repossession agent would be committing a breach of peace, such as appearing at a neighbor's or public place where the borrower was and requesting the keys or another vehicle be moved, etc.


What happens to your license plate after your car gets repossessed in South Carolina?

The person(s) whose name(s) appear on the title of the vehicle should remove the license plate(s) before the vehicle is impounded by the repossession agent.


If a person does not want a vehicle anymore and gives it back to the lienholder is it considered to be repossessed?

Yes, voluntary repossession. Your credit will still suffer and the leinholder needs to sell the vehicle to get their money back. If they are unable to cover the loan fully, you are responsible for the difference.


Can you still owe money after your motorhome is repossessed?

Absolutely. When an item is repossessed, it's typically auctioned off. The person who the property was repossessed from is still responsible for the difference between what the final auction price was and what the amount owed at the time of repossession was. Additionally, repossession, storage, and transportation costs will be added to the amount owed.


If the person who repossessed your vehicle has no medical certificate which is required by federal law because the tow truck had a USDOT number does that make this an illegal repossession?

The Repossion Was Issued. This In Its Self Is Legal, Reguardless, Of How The Vehicle Was Recovered. Next The Feds Will Have To Handle The Other Violation.


Can a vehicle be repossessed if you allowed a military person to take over vehicle payments and he has not paid anything?

it doesn't matter if the pope takes over your vehicle payments. if he stops making them, your credit is damaged and the vehicle is repossessed.

People also asked